West Gippsland Healthcare Group AGM and Awards Event

Category: Latest News
Wednesday 07 December 2016
WGHG held its AGM on 17th November at the Warragul Reception & Conference Centre, which saw 150 people from the community attend.

The proceedings started with Chair Jane Leslie providing an overview of the achievements of the Group for the 2015-16 year.

In accordance with statutory and Government requirements, the Annual Report was presented and made available to attendees. The 2016 Quality Account was also released. Both publications are available from WGHG’s website at www.wghg.com.au.

Numerous partner and provider groups were acknowledged including; Universities, the TAFE sector, Neerim District Health Service, Latrobe Regional Health, Central Gippsland Health Service, Bass Coast Health Service and Latrobe Community Health Service.

A special thank you went to the community for all their support; ranging from cards and compliments that lift the spirits of staff, to the many donations that are received each year.

WGHG staff were presented with Long Service Awards and six volunteers received Volunteer Recognition of Service Awards. Life Governorships were awarded to Joe Oppedisano, a retired WGHG staff member, Roma Rippon, a WGHG volunteer and long serving obstetrician Dr Lal McLennan. An inaugural award for Medical Staff serving 20 years of more of service to WGHG were also distributed.

Guest speaker Barry Rogers, Chair of the WGHG Community Advisory Council (CAC), shared his personal experiences and encounters with the health sector. He outlined what had inspired him to join the CAC, and highlighted the CAC achievements over the past year to improving patient care at WGHG.

The evening concluded with supper and light refreshments served in the Warragul Country Club lounge area.

Caption: WGHG staff received Long Service Award certificates and badges for years of employment (15 years, 20 years, 25 years, 30 years, 35 years and 40 years)

Caption: Volunteer Recognition of Service Awards for 10 years of volunteering at WGHG where presented to (L-R) Beryl Olsson, Mary Aitken, Sharmaine Pierson and Joyce Aitken, Sue Murphy (absent from photo) and Joan Naylor (apology).

Caption: Joe Oppedisano and Roma Rippon received Life Governor Awards.

Caption: WGHG CEO Dan Weeks presented Dr Lal McLennan his Life Governor Award at West Gippsland Hospital.

Caption: Medical Staff received Service awards for 20 years of service or more to the WGHG.